“I don’t like this, can I try something else?”

It’s almost like coming to my job means an instant taste-test of all the drinks in the menu! I had a guest order a glass of YT Shiraz. “I don’t like this, can I try something else?” As soon as she said this, I knew what I was in for. Not only was she a taste-tester, she was a price checker. No tip coming from this one. She tried to go through more than 2 drinks without finishing one before I said the next test, she had to pay for. The management will comp the first, and unfortunately they usually comp the second, but no more than that. It’s the fact that they shouldn’t even let them have any of it free. They ordered it, they saw the ingredients, they knew it’d be strong. DEAL WITH IT!

I had some Jamaican people in for dinner tonight. They bitched….and bitched….and bitched….and bitched. “My chicken fingers are cold mon, you aren’t gonna mek me pay for dem are ya?” Well of course they’re cold! YOU DIDN’T EAT THEM FOR THE FIRST 20 MINUTES THEY SAT AT THE TABLE!!

“I don like this tea, can I have a spraite?” OF COURSE YOU DIDN’T LIKE THE TEA, IT GOT WATERED DOWN WHILE YOU LET IT SIT AT THE TABLE FOR 20 MINUTES!!!

“Thers bacon in my potatoes. I told you I don’t eat bacon” “Sir, that’s the skin of the potatoes.” “It looks like bacon” “It isn’t” “Yes, it is” “No, it isn’t” “Fine, sir, can I get you something else?” “Some potatoes without bacon”. I took his potatoes into the hall, stood there for a minute, and came back out. He ate them without problem.

This week has also been hick week at my job, and I haven’t figured out why unless it’s because of Bonaroo way out in BFE. I sold more “spraht” tonight than I have in months. Hicks rarely know how to tip either. They don’t want to spend more than like 20 bucks, so you get MAYBE a dollar from the majority. There are those that surprise ya though. I got 2o bucks from one set tonight. Then again, people who drink bottled beer tip better than the drafters, and I haven’t figured out why. Maybe they’re just more easygoing?

I have to put this question out there. Can most diners read? I don’t understand it when theres someone LOOKING at the menu, and they still have to ask stupid questions.

Some of the better ones: A gentleman is looking at the appetizers. “What kind of appetizers do you have? I’d like some pork egg rolls and soy sauce.” That’s nowhere on the menu

“Do you have chocolate ice cream?” While looking at the dessert menu.

“Where are your burgers?” While looking at the burgers.

“Do kids eat free? Well why not? They do at O’charleys!”

“Do these kids meals come with a drink? No? Yall be drinking water tonight!”

Stupidity has been rampant this week, and I’m not sure how much more I can take. Maybe it’s time to see if fine dining is any better…..

One thought on ““I don’t like this, can I try something else?”

  1. Seriously, Ribeye,you’ve got to start using that loud environment to your advantage, smile, nod and walk away. Especially when they don’t “like” something they ordered and drank, just say “I’m sorry you feel that way, would you like to order a different drink?” They shut up really fast when they know you’re not going to play thier game.

Leave a Reply

