19 thoughts on “Pissed off Fibromyalgiapods

  1. The potential for weight gain is a special concern because many fibromyalgia patients are already overweight: the average fibromyalgia patient in the 2007 survey reported weighing 180 pounds and standing 5 feet 4 inches.

    Interesting.

  2. Personally, I think its one of those diseases (like another poster mentioned, chronic fatigue syndrome) that is overdiagnosed as a spectrum diagnosis while in reality only a very small percentage of the population suffers. I knew a person who had chronic fatigue in the 1990s and when the symptoms resurfaced again about 4 years ago ate a gun rather than go through it again.

    I think the fundamental problem of many chronic condition like this are they allow alot of people to pigeonhole their problems into one basket rather than deal with multiple issues (i.e. weight, inactivity). I know someone who is complaining about knee trouble and if they can get drugs or surgery for their situation. In my opinion, the heart of the issue is lack of exercise coupled by the extra 150 pounds they carry that is causing the problem. However, its easier to take a pill every day than change your lifestyle.

  3. Pissed off Fibromyalgiapod here – but not pissed off at Ribeye – rather, pissed off at all the other whining “fibromyalgia” diagnosed folks out there.

    Ribeye, three cheers to you for not going “fibro!!” in response to your joint pain. And three cheers to all of us out there who were diagnosed with it who don’t spend our lives typing away at blogs named “FMS Hell.”

    Here’s my view – fibro is going to be what you make it to be. If you’re determined that your life is going to be “FMS Hell” and if your bio of yourself is something to the point of “I’m a 29 year old woman and I am in pain every day of my life” then guess what….that’s what your life is going to be like. Enjoy that.

    Me, I prefer the “I was diagnosed with this, but I’m eff this, I’m going to live a normal life,” route. Because that’s the secret I’ve discovered – and the secret that the few people I’ve run across who “really” have fibro have also discovered. The more normal you make your life, the better you feel. Get out and run! Stay active! Don’t let this “disease” rule your life.

    And before any pissed off fibromyalgiapods jump my case, I was diagnosed three years ago – my symptoms have been severe enough that my doctor once commented that if she didn’t know better, she’d swear that I’d had a three-year-long case of mono (interestingly, before it was called “fibromyalgia” or “chronic fatigue” it was called chronic Epstein-Barr – the mono virus). So yeah, whether you call it fibro or something else entirely, my symptoms are severe at times. But the difference between them and me is that I don’t let it rule my life. And that’s the way it should be.

  4. Another thought…

    The thing that really strikes me about Fibromyalgia is that it really seems to be a “stress response” disorder. The handful of other people I know who really seem to have it are all very high-stress individuals – not high emotional stress – but they live high-stress lives and work high-stress jobs. What I’ve noticed with fibro is that it’s almost like your body going “hey, if you’re not going to stop and rest on your own, I’m going to *make* you stop and rest.”

    My personal view is that this is a *huge* factor in the onset of the disorder(psycho-somatic or otherwise), accompanied by poor diet and lack of activity. It’s like a maladaptive stress response and you have to re-train your body to deal with stress in an acceptable way.

    When I was in college, I’d often feel symptoms start to creep up near midterms or finals – the highest stress time periods of the year. Whenever that happened, I’d make myself stop, take a break – even if just for an afternoon to take a nap or lay around and read – make sure I was getting enough exercise and not eating overly processed foods. 90% of the time that was enough to make my symptoms do a 180.

    And really, I think that’s what I wish other folks out there with fibro would realize – that there are *so* many other ways to treat it and deal with it than just popping a pain pill. Popping pills is just a temporary fix for this, and does nothing to address the actual underlying causes.

  5. SarahFish – you impressed the hell out of me. Beautifully said and *clap* *clap* ~whistle~ to you for not letting it get you.

  6. Actually, I was angry at the responses to your post, not the post itself. You asked legitimate questions; they made assumptions about other people’s lives and pain, which you have apparently decided to do now, too.

    SarahFish, letting something rule your life isn’t the same as setting up a personal forum meant to help other people understand what things are like on the worst days. Admitting that you’re in pain every day is not letting it rule your life; for some of us, the first step to living normally with this is accepting that we’re going to be in pain. Every day. To everyone: chronic pain should be treated. Just part of life? It has been shown to cause brain damage.

    And RagingServer, (1) joint pain is not FMS. It has several other causes, but FMS does not cause joint pain. (2) See, the allergy thing; nice how you jump to those conclusions. I’m currently taking a non-narcotic pain reliever I’m happy with, and I wish to hell I could take NSAIDs because I have some inflammatory pain. This allergy has been documented by actual medical professionals, which you are not.

  7. think Raging was referring to drug seekers behavior that they are allegrgic to anything but the drug they want. Given the number of med blogs he lists he would be well aware of such an “allergy”

  8. Hey! Restless leg syndrome is very real, Mr. BitterD. It can be absolutely miserable at times! I don’t have migraines, but I don’t assume that anyone who does is a faker.

  9. I’d just like to see someone during a “FMS” attack under various scans. To see brain activity and neuro-muscular impulse activity. It would really help to know whether or not the pain is real or imagined.

  10. I don’t think everyone with one of these conditions is a faker. But you must admit that medical conditions seem to go through fads. And Drug Company adds don’t help. These hard to detect illnesses do also really attract drug seekers.

  11. It’s weird to be the person who hurts and have to defend yourself against people who think the whole thing is a sham. I was told I have fibro, but don’t tell people because I don’t want anyone to think I am a hypocondriac. I agree with SarahFish that stress seems to play a part in the discomfort and with Jack that the NSAIDS allergy is a for real thing. (It has a name—Samter’s Triad) I had to be desensitized to ASA so I could take it for heart problems. Now, my doctor tells me I have non-allergic rhinitis. I feel that keeping busy makes the pain less noticable. I can’t imagine taking all those drugs — how do people function? The whole thing makes me wonder about the fibro, allergy, NSAID, overweight, not sleeping, not exercising, immune system malfunction — when is medicine going to connect all this stuff and figure out that something is triggered in some people, but what? We didn’t have a name for this when I was young, but I think my mother had it.

  12. My mother was diagnosed with fibro when I was younger (before it became so prevalant). She truly is in pain and has spent most of my life that way. And yes, she takes lots of medicines throughout the day (not just for fibro, but for a whole slew of medical problems). I call it Better Living through Chemistry. If I am in pain and can take a pill to make it go away- you can believe I am going to do it.

    I think it has become a junk diagnosis of sorts- if they can’t figure out what is wrong with you they’ll just call it fibromyalgia. But that does not mean there aren’t people out there who do have it and suffer from its effects.

  13. I actually am not too sure about fibro. I think it exists in a few, I also think their turning it into a generic used for unexplainable pain. It’s an easy way for the addicts to get what ever they want..

  14. i’m no expert, but i’ve met a lot of people in my life. every person i’ve met who has claimed to have fibromyalgia has also been a hypochondriac with 50 or so other “illnesses”. every time someone gets a little discomfort or a stuffy nose the drug companies give a it a name and make drugs for it. the main reason so many people in this country are sick and fat is because they eat too much crappy food and do nothing but talk on the phone and watch tv. will these people ever realize that they are being played by the drug companies? will they ever know that their pain is entirely preventable?

    probably not. because they are idiots. thats how they got fat and stupid in the first place.

    and seriously, “pods”? who calls themselves a pod?

Leave a Reply

